The NIH Sexual & Gender Minority Research Coordinating Committee (SGM RCC) provides a trans-NIH forum for discussing the diverse health research issues of SGM communities and serves as a catalyst for developing additional research and research training initiatives in these areas across the agency.

SGM RCC Responsibilities

  • Facilitate and coordinate collaborations and other activities related to SGM health research across the NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices, as well as with other federal agencies  
  • Develop potential research and research training activities for NIH and ICO leadership to consider as a result of recommendations from the Institute of Medicine report on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender health
  • Provide advice to the SGMRO on implementation and evaluation of the NIH SGM Research Strategic Plan

Member Roster

Name NIH Institute/Center/Office Email
Maria Lopez-Class All of Us Research Program maria.lopez-class@nih.gov
Sheri Schully All of Us Research Program schullys@mail.nih.gov
Mark Rubert  Center for Scientific Review rubertm@csr.nih.gov
Mark Vosick Center for Scientific Review mark.vosick@nih.gov
Lisa Evans Division of Biomedical Research Workforce/Office of the Director evansl@od.nih.gov
Regina Bures Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development regina.bures@nih.gov
Charisee Lamar Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development lamarc@mail.nih.gov
Ronna Popkin Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development ronna.popkin@nih.gov
Ranjan Gupta Fogarty International Center guptar@niaid.nih.gov
Kathy Michels Fogarty International Center michelsk@ficod.fic.nih.gov
Brad Newsome Fogarty International Center brad.newsome@nih.gov
Sheba Dunston National Cancer Institute sheba.dunston@nih.gov
Emmanuel Taylor National Cancer Institute taylorem@mail.nih.gov
Guadalupe Aquino National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences lupe.aquino@nih.gov
Anastasia Solis National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health anastasia.solis@nih.gov
Della White National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health whitede@mail.nih.gov
Emily Chew National Eye Institute echew@nei.nih.gov
Shefa Gordon National Eye Institute shefa@nei.nih.gov
Paul Cotton National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute paul.cotton@nih,gov
Vence Bonham National Human Genome Research Institute bonhamv@mail.nih.gov
Tina Gatlin National Human Genome Research Institute christine.gatlin@nih.gov
Juliane Caviston National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases juliane.caviston@nih.gov
Keith Crawford National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases keith.crawford@nih.gov
Stephanie Burrows National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases stephanie.burrows@nih.gov
Heiyoung Park National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases heiyoung.park@nih.gov
Denise Stredrick National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research stredrid@mail.nih.gov
Tamara Bavendam National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases tamara.bavendam@nih.gov
Sandeep Dayal National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases dayals@niddk.nih.gov
Vanessa White National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases vanessa.white@nih.gov
Kelly Chandler National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences kelly.chandler@nih.gov
Edgardo Falcon Morales National Institute of General Medical Sciences  edgardo.falcon@nih.gov
Mercedes Rubio National Institute of General Medical Sciences  rubiome@mail.nih.gov
Susannah Allison National Institute of Mental Health allisonsu@mail.nih.gov
Tamara Lewis-Johnson National Institute of Mental Health tl247e@nih.gov
Richard Benson National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke richard.benson@nih.gov
Stacey Chambers National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke sc395c@nih.gov
Sara Dodson National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke sara.dodson@nih.gov
Eddie Byrnes National Institute of Nursing Research edmond.byrnes@nih.gov
Rebecca Henry National Institute of Nursing Research rebecca.henry@nih.gov
Melissa Gerald National Institute on Aging melissa.gerald@nih.gov
Robert Freeman National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism rfreeman@mail.nih.gov
Alberto Rivera-Rentas National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders riverara@nidcd.nih.gov
Lana Shekim National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders shekiml@nidcd.nih.gov
Will Aklin National Institute on Drug Abuse aklinwm@nida.nih.gov
Jeff Schulden National Institute on Drug Abuse schuldenj@nida.nih.gov
Jennifer Alvidrez National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities alvidrezjl@mail.nih.gov
Nate Stinson National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities stinsonn@mail.nih.gov
Patricia Gallagher National Library of Medicine patricia.gallagher@nih.gov
Lisa Lang National Library of Medicine langl@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Marion Danis NIH Clinical Center mdanis@cc.nih.gov
Meryl Sufian Office of AIDS Research/Office of the Director sufianm@mail.nih.gov
Amber Wilson Office of AIDS Research/Office of the Director amber.wilson@nih.gov
Bill Elwood Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research/Office of the Director elwoodwi@od.nih.gov
Katie Morris Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research/Office of the Director kathryn.morris@nih.gov
David Tilley Office of Disease Prevention/Office of the Director david.tilley@nih.gov
Kate Winseck Office of Disease Prevention/Office of the Director winseckk@mail.nih.gov
Bali White Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion bali.white@nih.gov
Charles (Chuck) Dearolf Office of Intramural Research/Office of the Director dearolfc@mail.nih.gov
Roland Owens Office of Intramural Research/Office of the Director owensrol@mail.nih.gov
Shauna Clark Office of Intramural Training and Education/Office of the Director clarkshauna@od.nih.gov
Rajasri Roy Office of Research on Women’s Health/Office of the Director royr2@mail.nih.gov
Alyssa Tonsing-Carter Office of Science Policy/Office of the Director alyssa.tonsing-carter@nih.gov
Stephanie Courchesne Office of Strategic Coordination/ Office of the Director stephanie.courchesne@nih.gov
Charlene Le Fauve Scientific Workforce Diversity/Office of the Director charlene.lefauve@nih.gov
Edmund Keane Tribal Health Research Office/Office of the Director edmund.keane@nih.gov
Shawn Thomas Tribal Health Research Office/Office of the Director shawn.thomas2@nih.gov
Dave Wilson Tribal Health Research Office/Office of the Director dave.wilson2@nih.gov 

This page last reviewed on December 3, 2020