NIH Tribal Health Research Coordinating Committee (THRCC)

The NIH Tribal Health Research Coordinating Committee (THRCC) serves as a catalyst for developing research, research training, and career development initiatives focused on American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN). It provides a forum for discussing the diverse health issues and challenges facing AI/AN communities, and how NIH research can help address those needs. The committee meets monthly and THRCC members are representatives from the NIH Institutes, Centers and Offices (ICOs) and the Division of Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI) offices.

THRCC members are tasked to:

  • Participate in the development of an AI/AN Research Strategic Plan and developing and recommending strategies to track and monitor NIH research initiatives and progress
  • Participate in the developing the initial AI/AN research portfolio analysis
  • Develop potential research and research training activities for NIH and ICO leadership to consider
  • Facilitate and coordinate collaborations and other activities related to AI/AN health research across the NIH ICOs as well as with other federal agencies
  • Contribute to reports on AI/AN research activities to HHS and in response to other requests
THRCC Members


Tribal Health Research Office (THRO)

Karina Walters, Ph.D., M.S.W. (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma)

Office of the Director Members

All of Us Research Program

Carolina Cerrone
Michael Hahn

Office of AIDS Research (OAR)

Meryl Sufian, Ph.D.

Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)

Michael Spittel, Ph.D.

Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)

Nancy Potischman, Ph.D.  

Office of Disease Prevention (ODP)

Melissa Green Parker, Ph.D.

Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI)

Ashley Wells, M.A.

Office of Intramural Training and Education (OITE)

Erika Barr, Ph.D.

Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)

Lynn Morin, M.A.

Office of Science Policy (OSP)

Caroline Hagedorn, M.A.
Taunton Paine, M.A.
Alyssa Tonsing-Carter, Ph.D.

Office of Scientific Workforce Diversity (SWD)

Charlene E. Le Fauve

Sexual and Gender Minority Health Research Office (SGMRO)

Christopher Barnhart, Ph.D.

Institute and Center Members

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Amy Kennedy, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Center for Scientific Review (CSR)

Delia Olufokunbi Sam, Ph.D.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

Lanay Mudd, Ph.D.  

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Mona Puggal, M.P.H.

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Jamil Scott, Ph.D., M.P.H.

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Patricia Jones, Dr.P.H., M.P.H, M.S.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Tatiana Balachova, Ph.D.

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Jessi Drew 
Johanna Schneider, Ph.D.

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)

Xincheng (Ted) Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Zeynep Erim, Ph.D.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Charisee Lamar, Ph.D., M.P.H., RRT

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Denise Stredrick, Ph.D.

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

Sylvia L. Parsons

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Winnie Martinez
Katrina Serrano, Ph.D.

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Kathy Etz, Ph.D. 

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Liam O'Fallon, M.A.

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)


National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Dawn Morales, Ph.D.

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

Angela Fernandez, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Dorothy Castille, Ph.D.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) (Extramural)

Michelle Jones-London, Ph.D.  

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) (Intramural)

Rita Devine, Ph.D. 

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

Lynn Adams, Ph.D. 

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Laura Bartlett, MLS

This page last reviewed on