NIH Annual Tribal Advisory Committee (TAC) Meeting

December 7-8, 2022
1:00 – 5:30 PM ET, Virtual

(1:00 PM ET - 12:00 PM CT - 11:00 AM MT - 10:00 AM PT - 9:00 AM AKT)

Click below to watch live on NIH Videocast:
Day 1: Wednesday, December 7, 2022, https://videocast.nih.gov/watch=48567
Day 2: Thursday, December 8, 2022, https://videocast.nih.gov/watch=48569

AGENDA

Day 1

Schedule

Topic

Presenter/Facilitator

1:00 p.m.

Tribal Caucus #1

Delegates and Technical Advisors Only in Zoom Breakout Room

Note: Breakout room is split off from the main Zoom meeting. It allows participants to meet in a smaller group and has completely separate audio and video from the main session.

1:50 p.m.

Invocation

Bobby Saunkeah, TAC Delegate

1:55 p.m.

Introductions, Welcome, and Business

  • Introductions and Roll Call
  • Meeting Procedures
  • Review of Agenda
  • Goals of Meeting

Herminia Frias, M.P.H., TAC Chairperson

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

Robert W. Eisinger, Ph.D., Acting Director,
Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives

2:00 p.m.

Discussion with NIH Leadership

Lawrence A. Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D., Performing the Duties of the NIH Director

Robert W. Eisinger, Ph.D., Acting Director,
Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

TAC Members

3:10 p.m.

Break

 

3:25 p.m.

Tribal Data Repository
Funding Opportunity for the Tribal Epidemiology Centers

Eliseo J. Pérez-Stable, M.D., Director,
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, NIH

4:00 p.m.

Bridge to Artificial Intelligence (Bridge2AI) Program

Lanay M. Mudd, Ph.D., F.A.C.S.M., Program Director,
Clinical Research Branch; Training Officer National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

4:25 p.m.

NIH Policies, Protections, and Implications for the Ethical Conduct of Research with Tribal Communities, including Genetic Research

Adam C. Berger, Ph.D., Director,
Division of Clinical and Healthcare Research Policy, Office of Science Policy, NIH

Sara Chandros Hull, Ph.D., Senior Advisor in Bioethics,
Tribal Health Research Office (Detail), NIH

5:25 p.m.

Closing Comments and Blessing

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

Herminia Frias, M.P.H., TAC Chairperson

5:30 p.m.

Adjourn

 

Day 2

Schedule

Topic

Presenter/Facilitator

1:00 p.m.

TAC Caucus #2

Delegates and Technical Advisors Only in Zoom Breakout Room

2:00 p.m.

Invocation

Jill Jim, Ph.D., TAC Alternate

2:05 p.m.

Welcome and Call to Order

  • Introductions
  • Recap of Day 1 and Overview of Day 2

Herminia Frias, M.P.H., TAC Chairperson

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

  • ATTN: Chat Box Roll Call

Delegates and Technical Advisors should begin
entering their names and Area/NALM status

2:10 p.m.

THRO Presentation

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

Mose A. Herne, M.P.H., M.S., Senior Advisor,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

3:40 p.m.

Break

 

4:00 p.m.

Election of TAC Chairperson and
Co-Chairperson

2023 Work Plan

  • Agency Overview
  • Operation of TAC
  • Mid-year and Annual TAC Meeting Dates

Herminia Frias, M.P.H., TAC Chairperson

TAC Members

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

5:25 p.m.

Closing Comments and Blessing

David R. Wilson, Ph.D., Director,
Tribal Health Research Office, NIH

Stephen Kutz, TAC Delegate

5:30 p.m.

Adjourn

 

This page last reviewed on December 19, 2022