Council of Councils Meeting

March 31 - April 1, 2008


National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Main Campus
Building 31C, Room 6
Bethesda, MD 20892

If you would like copies of any PowerPoint slides presented at the planning meeting, please contact Dr. Robert Hammond at


Day 1: March 31, 2008
Open Session 8:15 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.
8:15 a.m. I. Welcome 
Alan M. Krensky, M.D., Director, Office of Portfolio Analysis and Strategic Initiatives (OPASI)
8:30a.m. II. Remarks from the NIH Director
Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D.
8:45 a.m. Discussion
9:00 a.m. III. OPASI Divisions: Resource Development and Analysis
Timothy C. Hays, Ph.D., Chief, Portfolio Analysis and Scientific Opportunities Branch
9:15 a.m. Discussion
9:30 a.m. III. OPASI Divisions: Strategic Coordination
Elizabeth L. Wilder, Ph.D., Acting Associate Director, OPASI
9:45 a.m. Discussion
10:00 a.m. III. OPASI Divisions: Evaluation and Systematic Assessments
Deborah Duran, Ph.D., Chief, Systematic Assessments Branch
10:15 a.m. Discussion
10:30 a.m. General Discussion
Facilitator: Alan M. Krensky, M.D.
11:00 a.m. Break
11:15 a.m. IV. Interdisciplinary Research
Lawrence A. Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D., Director, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
11:45 a.m. Discussion
12:00 noon Lunch
1:00 p.m. V. The Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Human Genome Research Institute
1:30 p.m. Discussion
2:00 p.m. VI. New Concepts and Current Roadmap Topics
Elizabeth L. Wilder, Acting Associate Director, OPASI
2:30 p.m. Discussion
3:00 p.m. Break
Closed Session 3:15 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
3:15 p.m. VII. Subcommittee Breakout Sessions
5:00 p.m. Adjournment
Day 2: April 1, 2008
Open Session 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon
8:30 a.m. VIII. Public-Private Partnerships / Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH)
Barbara Mittleman, M.D., Director, Program on Public-Private Partnerships, Office of Science Policy, Office of the Director, NIH
Amy McGuire Porter, Executive Director, FNIH
9:00 a.m. Discussion
9:30 a.m. IX. Working Group and Subcommittee Reports
Timothy C. Hays, Ph.D., Working Groups
Richard Rudick, M.D., Chair, Subcommittee on Resource Development and Analysis
Joseph Loscalzo, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, Subcommittee on Strategic Coordination
Juanita L. Merchant, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, Subcommittee on Evaluation and Systematic Assessments
10:00 a.m. Discussion
11:30 a.m. X. Next Steps
Alan M. Krensky, M.D.
12:00 noon Adjournment
This page last reviewed on