Council of Councils Membership

Council of Councils Membership


Robert W. Eisinger, Ph.D. (2024)
Acting Director
Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI)
Office of the Director
National Institutes of Health


All terms end October 31 of year in parenthesis unless otherwise noted.

Maria Rosario G. Araneta, Ph.D., M.P.H. (2023)
Professor of Epidemiology
Department of Family Medicine and Public Health
Division of Epidemiology
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, California

Kristin Ardlie, Ph.D. (2024)
Director, Genotype Tissue Expression (GTEX LDACC)
Broad Institute of Harvard University and
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Linda Chang, M.D., FAAN, FANA, FISMRM (2024)
Professor and Vice Chair for Faculty Development
Department of Diagnostic Radiology and Nuclear Medicine
Professor, Department of Neurology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Graham A. Colditz, M.D., Dr.P.H., M.P.H. (2024)
Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery,
Professor of Medicine and Associate Director, Prevention and Control
Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center
Deputy Director, Institute for Public Health
Chief, Division of Public Health Sciences
Department of Surgery
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Saint Louis, Missouri

Andrew P. Feinberg, M.D., M.P.H. (2024)
Director, Center for Epigenetics
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Departments of Medicine, Biomedical Engineering, Mental Health, Oncology, Biostatistics, Molecular Biology and Genetics, and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Monica Gandhi, M.D., M.P.H. (2028)
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases & Global Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California

Rick Horwitz, Ph.D. (2023)
Executive Director, Emeritus and Senior Advisor
Allen Institute for Cell Science
Seattle, Washington

Rafael Irizarry, Ph.D. (2028)
Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Kevin B. Johnson, M.D., M.S., FAAP, FACMI, FAMIA (2024)
David L. Cohen University Professor
Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Informatics
Department of Computer and Information Science
Department of Pediatrics
Annenberg School for Communication
University of Pennsylvania
Vice President, Applied Informatics
University of Pennsylvania Health System
Professor of Pediatrics
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Karen C. Johnston, M.D., M.Sc. (2027)
Harrison Distinguished Professor of Neurology
Department of Neurology
Associate Vice President for Clinical &
Translational Research
Office of the Vice President for Research
University of Virginia
Director, iTHRIV
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia

Barbara Kelley (2028)
Executive Director
Hearing Loss Association of America
Bethesda, Maryland

Paul J. Kenny, Ph.D. (2023)
Ward-Coleman Professor
Chair of the Nash Family Department of Neuroscience
Director, Drug Discovery Institute
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, New York

Jean A. King, Ph.D. (2028)
Dean, Art and Sciences
Professor of Neuroscience
Professor of Biology and Biotechnology
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Worcester, Massachusetts

Gary A. Koretzky, M.D., Ph.D. (2023)
Vice Provost for Academic Integration 
Cornell University
Professor, Department of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, New York

Michael Kotlikoff, V.M.D., Ph.D. (2028)
Provost, Cornell University
Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine
Cornell University
Ithaca, New York

Richard D. Krugman, M.D. (2025)
Vice Chancellor, Health Affairs
Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
Kempe Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, Colorado

Kevin C. Kent Lloyd, D.V.M., Ph.D. (2027)
Professor, Department of Surgery
School of Medicine
Director, Mouse Biology Program
Associate Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of California, Davis
Davis, California

Jennifer Jaie Manly, Ph.D. (2028)
Professor of Neuropsychology
Gertrude H. Sergievky Center and the Taub
Institute for Research on Alzheimer's Disease
and the Aging Brain
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, New York

Rhonda Robinson-Beale, M.D. (2024)
UnitedHealth Group
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Susan Sanchez, Ph.D. (2024)
Professor, Department of Infectious Diseases
College of Veterinary Medicine
Biomedical and Health Sciences Institute
One Health Program
The University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia

Jean E. Schaffer, M.D. (2023)
Senior Investigator and Associate Research Director
Joslin Diabetes Center
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Anna Maria Siega-Riz, Ph.D., M.S. (2024)
Dean and Professor
Department of Nutrition
Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
School of Public Health and Health Sciences
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, Massachusetts

Lauren Silvis, J.D. (2028)
Senior Vice President of External Affairs
Tempus, Inc.
Washington, D.C.

Russell N. Van Gelder, M.D., Ph.D. (2025)
Professor and Chair, Ophthalmology
Boyd K. Bucey Professor
Director of UW Medicine Eye Institute
Adjunct Professor, Departments of Pathology and Biological Structure
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington


Tara A. Schwetz, Ph.D.
Acting Principal Deputy Director
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland


Franziska B. Grieder, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP),
DPCPSI, Office of the Director (OD)
Bethesda, Maryland


(The heads of the DPCPSI offices serve as liaisons to the Council of Councils.)

Janine A. Clayton, M.D.
Office of Research on Women's Health, DPCPSI, OD

Susan K. Gregurick, Ph.D.
Office of Data Science Strategy, DPCPSI, OD

Franziska B. Grieder, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Bill G. Kapogiannis, M.D., FIDSA
Acting Director
Office of AIDS Research, DPCPSI, OD

Christopher J. Lynch, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Office of Nutrition Research, DPCPSI, OD

David M. Murray, Ph.D.
Office of Disease Prevention, DPCPSI, OD
Acting Director
Office of Dietary Supplements, DPCPSI, OD

Karen L. Parker, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office, DPCPSI, OD

George Santangelo, Ph.D.
Office of Portfolio Analysis, DPCPSI, OD

Douglas M. Sheeley, Sc.D.
Acting Director
Office of Strategic Coordination, DPCPSI, OD

Wendy B. Smith, M.A., Ph.D., B.C.B.
Acting Director
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research, DPCPSI, OD

Marina Volkov, Ph.D.
Office of Evaluation, Performance, and Reporting (OEPR), DPCPSI, OD

Karina L. Walters, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Tribal Health Research Office, DPCPSI, OD


*Pending Approval

This page last reviewed on August 28, 2023