Science of Science Management: October 2-3, 2008

Chair: Alan Krensky, M.D.

Executive Secretary: Deborah Duran, Ph.D.

Program Staff: Ken Ambrose, M.A., Kerry Goetz, M.S.

		Theme Specific			
	Meeting Structure by Areas of Expertise	Current State of Knowledge Assessment	Knowledge Generation/ Advancement	Knowledge Utilization/ Dissemination/ Diffusion	Public Health Impact
	IC Director Breakout Chair	Lawrence Tabak, NIDCR	Nora Volkow, NIDA	Thomas Insel, NIMH	Paul Sieving, NEI
Field Specific	Evaluation / Assessment	David Wilson George Mason, Associate Professor, Dept of Public and International Affairs	Scott Stern Northwestern University, Associate Professor, Kellogg School of Management	William Trochim Cornell University, Professor, Dept of Policy Analysis and Management	Doris Rubio University of Pittsburgh, Associate Professor of Medicine, Biostatistics, and Nursing
	Knowledge Discovery / Management	Mary Kane Concept Systems Incorporated, President	Katy Börner Indiana University, Associate Professor of Information Science and Informatics	Jason Owen-Smith University of Michigan, Assistant Professor, Sociology and Organizational Studies	Nate Osgood University of Saskatchewan, Assistant Professor, Dept of Computer Science
	Systems / Modeling/ Policy	Adam Jaffe Brandeis University, Dean of Arts and Sciences and Fred C. Hecht Professor in Economics	Susan Cozzens Georgia Institute of Technology, Director Technology Policy and Assessment Center	Lynne Zucker University of California-Los Angeles, Professor of Sociology & Policy Studies	Daniel Sarewitz Arizona State University, Director of the Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes
	Scientists	Michael Darby University of California-Los Angeles, Professor of Money and Financial Markets	Edward Roberts (keynote) Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Professor of Management of Technology / Founder and Chair MIT Entrepreneurship Center	Fiona Murray Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Associate Professor, Management of Technology, Innovation and Entrepreneurship	Harold Pincus Columbia University, Professor, Dept of Psychiatry
	Scientists	James Wong COPR, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies, Senior Product Strategist	Gilbert Omenn University of Michigan, Professor of Internal Medicine, Human Genetics and Public Health	Michelle McMurry Aspen Institute, Director, Health, Biomedical Science and Society Initiative	Ernst Berndt Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Professor of Applied Economics
	Council of Councils Members	Lenworth Johnson University of Missouri, Professor of Ophthalmology & Neurology	Arthur Kleinman Harvard University, Professor of Medical Anthropology	Edwin Flores Chalker Flores LLP, Founder	Phyllis Wise University of Washington, Provost and Executive Vice President
	P&E Officers	Kathie Reed NIA, Director, Office of Planning, Analysis, and Evaluation	Kevin Callahan NIAID, Director, Office of Strategic Planning and Financial Management	Della Hann NIMH, Director, Office of Science Policy and Program Planning	Lori Mulligan NCRR, Director, Office of Science Policy
	NIH Scientists	Alan Koretsky NINDS, Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Functional and Molecular Imaging	Susan Gottesman NCI, Senior Investigator, Biochemical Genetics	David Lipman NLM, Director, NCBI; Senior Investigator	Ronald Germain NIAID, Senior Investigator, Lab Immunology
	NIH Scientists	Robert Star NIDDK, Director, Division of Kidney, Urologic and Hematologic Diseases	Mark Guyer NHGRI, Director, Division of Extramural Research	Anita Linde NIAMS, Director, Office of Science Policy and Planning	Clifford Lane NIAID, Senior Investigator, Division of Clinical Research
	NIH Scientists	Richard Suzman NIA, Director, Division of Behavioral and Social Research	Richard Fabsitz NHLBI, Deputy Chief, Epidemiology Branch	Stephen Marcus NCI, Scientist, Tobacco Control Research Branch	Richard Fisher NEI, Associate Director for Science Policy and Legislation
	NIH SOSM Working Group	Christie Drew NIEHS, Health Scientist Administrator, Program Analysis Branch	Nancy Jones NIAID, Planning and Evaluation Specialist, Strategic Planning and Evaluation Branch	Patty Mabry OD, Health Science Administrator, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research	Susan Daniels NIAID, Health Scientist Administrator, Office of Scientific Coordination and Program Operations