Overview

Concept Clearance:

- Reissue PAR-17-450, "Limited Competition: Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Transition Award (R00)"; and
- Reissue PAR-20-167, "Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program."

Objective: To provide strong support to talented clinical/translational researchers at the early stages of their independent careers.

Funds Available and Anticipated Number of Awards: 2-6 awards per year.

Award Project Period: 5-7 years intramural, 3 years extramural (5 years extramural for first 4 Scholar cohorts).

Council Action: Vote for continued support of the NIH Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program.

Program Overview

Purpose: To support exceptional clinical researchers in the early stages of their independent careers, to promote their development to fully independent scientists.

Total program duration 8+ years:

- Phase 1 (Si2): NIH Intramural Research Program full support (salary and research support).
 - Independent tenure-track investigator position
 - 5-7 years
- Phase 2 (R00): Salary and/or research support of up to \$500,000/year at outside institution, OR continuation in Intramural Research Program.
 - 3 years R00 for current applicants (non-competitive application)
 - 5 years R00 for first 4 Scholar cohorts (competitive "Limited Competition" application required)

Candidates: Early stage clinical researchers, not yet tenured, with the ability to conduct independent research. Includes MD, MD/PhD, DO, DDS, DMD, RN/PhD, and other clinical doctors.

History: Annual program starting in 2011-12

Benefits to Scholars

- Protected time during intramural phase to conduct research:
 - Fully funded by NIH intramural program
 - No burdensome service obligations
 - In some cases, can maintain affiliation with previous institution while at the NIH
- Extramural component provides options for Scholars:
 - 3 years of support at a research institution for Scholars who successfully complete the intramural phase (5 years for first 4 cohorts)
 - Documented success in an NIH peer-reviewed application process

Lasker Foundation benefits:

- Attendance at Lasker awards breakfast and luncheon
- Attendance at "Lasker Lessons in Leadership" events
- Highlighted in Lasker Foundation reports and on website

Lasker Scholars

33 Current and Past Scholars (selected from 121 applications)
18 Women & 15 Men

4 Underrepresented Minority Investigators

11 NIH Institutes have one or more Scholars





Tenured Scholars

- Jessica Gill, RN, PhD (NINR), tenured 6/2018
 - Scientific Director (Acting), NINR
 - Studies mechanisms underlying neurological symptoms and deficits in military personnel with TBIs, as well as athletes with concussions
 - Previously Assistant Professor, George Mason University
- Nehal Mehta, MD, MSCE, FAHA (NHLBI), tenured 2/2020
 - · Chief, Laboratory of Inflammation and Cardiometabolic Diseases, NHLBI
 - Editorial Board of Journal of Translational Medicine; NHLBI Orloff Award 2018
 - Studies the role of innate immunity and inflammation in the development of cardiovascular and metabolic diseases.
 - Previously Assistant Professor, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
- Armin Raznahan, MD, PhD (NIMH), tenured 4/2020
 - Chief, Section on Developmental Neurogenomics, NIMH
 - Editorial Board of Neuroimage; Eva-King Killiam Award for Translational Research (ACNP); Robins-Guze Award (APA).
 - Studies the architecture of human brain development in health, and in neurogenetic disorders that increase risk for psychiatric symptoms
 - Previously Assistant Clinical Investigator at NIMH
- Christian Hinrichs, MD (NCI), tenured 5/2020
 - Leaving NIH to become co-Director, MacMillan Cancer Immunology and Metabolism Center of Excellence at Rutgers Cancer Institute of NJ; and Chief, Section of Cancer Immunotherapy, Rutgers Cancer Institute of NJ.
 - Researches and develops immunotherapy for HPV+ cancers
 - Previously Assistant Clinical Investigator at NCI

COUNCIL ACTION

Vote for continued support of the NIH Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program.

Thank you