Sexual & Gender Minority Research Coordinating Committee


Back Row (L-R): Elizabeth Wehr, NICHD; Rebecca Hong, NHGRI; Mia Lowden, NIAID; Shefa Gordon, NEI; Bali White, OBSSR; Tina Gatlin, NHGRI; Maëva May, NHLBI; Bekah Geiger, Clinical Center; Elizabeth Perruccio, NCI; Charles Dearolf, OD/OIR; Meredith Temple-O’Connor, OD/OER; Rashada Alexander, NIGMS. Front Row (L-R): Emily Chew, NEI; Tara Schwetz, OD/IMOD; Karen Parker, OD/SGMRO (acting co-chair); Susannah Allison, NIMH (co-chair); Ryan Mahon, OD/SGMRO.


Susannah Allison – National Institute of Mental Health
Karen Parker – Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office

Office of the Director Members

Immediate Office of the Director – Tara Schwetz
Office of AIDS Research – Vanessa White
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research – Bill Elwood
Office of Disease Prevention – Kate Winseck
Office of Intramural Research – Charles Dearolf
Office of Research on Women’s Health – Amy Mistretta
Office of Strategic Coordination – Eddie Byrnes
Office of Extramural Research – Meredith Temple-O’Connor
Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion – Albert Smith

Institute and Center Members

Center for Scientific Review – Mark Rubert
Clinical Center 
– Bekah Geiger and Marion Danis
Fogarty International Center – Kathy Michels
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health – John Williamson 
National Cancer Institute – Elizabeth Perruccio, Rebecca Huppi, and Emmanuel Taylor
National Eye Institute – Emily Chew and Shefa Gordon
National Human Genome Research Institute – Tina Gatlin and Rebecca Hong
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute – Maëva May and Shimian Zou
National Institute on Aging – Kate Nagy and Melissa Gerald
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism – Robert Freeman
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases – Philip Renzullo and Mia Lowden
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases – Mary Beth Kester
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development – Elizabeth Wehr and Susan Newcomer
National Institute on Drug Abuse – Jeff Schulden and Will Aklin
National Institute of Deafness and Other Communication Disorders – Alberto Rivera-Rentas and Lana Shekim
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research – Emily Harris and Jonathon Horsford
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases – Sandeep Dayal
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences – Bill Jirles and Carmen Williams
National Institute of General Medical Sciences – Rashada Alexander and Shan McCollough
National Institute of Mental Health – Susannah Allison and Catherine Roca
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities – Nate Stinson and Francisco Sy
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke – Amelie Gubitz and Katie Pahigiannis
National Institute of Nursing Research – Mary Roary



This page last reviewed on January 3, 2018